Showing posts with label advice. Show all posts
Showing posts with label advice. Show all posts

Wednesday, August 17, 2011

I had a {laundry} epiphany.

When you have six people in your family, that adds up to a lot of laundry. I have to do at least two load of laundry every single day or my laundry room looks like this:
And believe it or not, that's all CLEAN clothes. You have six people in 3 separate rooms with a total of six dressers and three closets, then divide up according to which drawer...well things can spiral out of hand very quickly. Add in the linens from five beds and the towels of six people. If I think ''Man I don't feel like doing laundry...I'll just do it tomorrow'' things get bad. It all piles up to be put away but I rarely have free time to divide it all up where it needs to go and the result is the above photo. Luckily, I am good about washing clothes...very, very rarely is there a heaping pile of dirty clothes. Usually it's all clean.

But whose with me here? Putting clean clothes away is one of the chores that I detest the most. I hate it. It takes forever. The constant bending down to reach the clothes, and in the back and forth of folding the little stuff, hanging the shirts, sorting the pajamas by which kid, folding the jeans...it's enough that I just avoid doing it. I've tried washing loads of just B and I's clothing, or just the kids. The problem is they go through clothing much faster, our load would take days to build up and by then I have no clean bras. It would take us weeks to get enough items for a load of whites, and by then B wouldn't have any undershirts.

Usually.

But a few weeks ago, I had an epiphany. Now this might not work for your family but I guarantee it will for a large family. Rather than wash our clothes in the traditional loads (whites/darks/colors/etc), I sorted by what the item is. So a load of just pants/bottoms, a load of justs pajamas/undies, a load of just shirts, only towels/bibs, and lastly, bed linens. This way when it comes time to take things out of the dryer, I'm not doing the constant fold, hang, bend...it's one repetitive task. All shirts? Hang them all up and take all of them to closets. All pants? Fold in half and put away. Pajamas? neatly stack and place in kids dressers. I don't get the random piles on top of my machines...I get one pile of one type of clothing for each person.

In addition to being easier to physically hang/put away, now as long as I do one load a day, we don't get to a situation of B telling me ''I have no clean slacks." Whoops...did I forget to do a load of permanent press?---No longer an issue. Like today, I did a load of 'shirts' and a load of 'pajamas'. Now, with the exception of what we are wearing, every single shirt and pajama in this house, is clean AND put away. Tomorrow I'll do pants and towels. Thursday I'll do a load of of shirts and pajamas. Friday it'll be bed linens and pants. It's never more than 3 days before the next load-type cycles back in again, with the exception of towels and linens, which I do once a week. Each load is a good size, not heaping but not so tiny that it's not worth it. {Each day we go through at least 7 shirts, 6 pairs of pants...so two days worth is 14 shirts or 12 pants, which is a regular sized load}.

I'm a genius right?! It never gets out of hand and even if I skip a day, it's easy to get back on track. I will say that having the HE front loading machines help; I don't have to worry about colors bleeding because I wash almost everything in cold water. The machines are gentle on the clothes as well so nothing get's worn out.

The only question left is ....why did it take me this long to figure out!?

Thursday, April 21, 2011

these "Terrible Two's" are terrifying me

Peanut. Sweet Squishable Peanut. The littlest boy in our group of brothers, the sweet one who loves to flirt and hug and cuddle. Who knows and uses his "please" and "thank yous" with out being reminded or asking...
 
Where did he go? 

Who replaced my sweet loveable Peanut with this crazy hyper, demanding, yelling, pushing & hitting, two year old? The two year old who this morning didn't like the cup I had gave him so he poured his juice out all over the floor? The two year old who will walk up to his brothers and whack them in the back of a head with a diecast metal car and WHILE hitting them shouts ''Sorry!" with a smile on his face? This little boy who thinks it's a good time to let go of my hand (or his dad's hand) in the middle of a parking lot and take off running while LAUGHING hysterically.

Now I know you may be thinking ''Shannon, you're not exactly new to this. You knew it was coming." Well, yes, I did. But honestly I didn't think that Peanut could be any worse than Pooks was

I was horribly wrong. What I wouldn't give for some cart crawling and clothing hiding.

When I take Peanut to the store {lately} he will still sit in the cart. But every.single.item I pick up he says ''I want it''. So if it's a bag of apples, jar of peanut butter, box of cereal, he can hold it. I don't mind. When it's a package of ground beef, a glass jar of pickles or a carton of eggs, I remind him ''No, you can't have this, it's breakable/yucky...hold this instead.'' He shouts "I WANT IT!!" So I again say, "Well you can help mommy by holding this, you cannot have that". "BUT I WANT IT!!" he shouts in response. And again, he still doesn't get it so he proceeds to violently kick about the cart while screaming/crying/shouting. I've tried ignoring him. I've tried rationally explaining it to him. I've tried giving him something else. I'm not proud to admit it but I've even tried bribing him with something else. Nothing works. This behavior continues while I try to hurriedly finish my grocery shopping. Usually he all the sudden just stops. It may take 45 seconds, it may take 3 minutes but like a flipping a light-switch, he just stops.

Today when he did it, I stopped right there in the aisle. I stopped talking, stopped pushing and just stood there. When Pooks asked me why we stopped I calmly responded ''I can't shop until Connor stops screaming and being mean and sits nicely." Surprisingly this did cut down on the duration of the tantrum but we had to stop 6 times while at the store today. 

That's a trip to the store.

At home, it's a whole 'nother story. He is snatching toys that aren't his, trying to get things off of the counters, and insists that he do everything. He turns on the TV. He lets the dog out. He opens the fridge. He gets to chose his diaper. And if myself, B or one of the other kids happens to let the dog out, well be prepared for the insanity. It's a whirlwind of screaming, followed by him either actually hitting his brothers or just batting his hands at us.

Time-outs generally don't work because he screams so loudly while in timeout that he upsets Sweetcheeks and she starts crying. Then I have him in timeout screaming, her crying, Bubba ''helping'' me try to calm her down and Pooks yelling to tell me that Peanut is yelling too loud. Swatting his bottom doesn't work, he just hits back. Ignoring him doesn't work, he'll just continue hitting/snatching toys until someone intervenes. Sending him to his room is a disaster because he either a)stands at the doorway screaming which leads to the above scenario or b)starts making his room a mess by pulling everything off of his bed, throwing diapers around, etc. Not that I can't clean it up afterward (i do) but I'm afraid that he is going to hurt himself.

I am at a total loss.

And I should clarify he isn't bad every.single.second of the day. I'd say he's well behaved 65% of the time and awful about 35% of it. And it wouldn't be so horrible if his bad behavior wasn't SO bad. But, sadly, it is. *MOST* of the time when he acts out, I know it's because he's tired. The problem is that he has been waking at 6:30am and it turns out, that is too early for him to be nice. I have put up darkening shades in his room, I have a white noise machine going, I've turned down the AC at night so he's a bit cooler but nothing works, he still wakes up early. I tried letting him lay in my bed but he doesn't go back to sleep. He tosses and turns and talks to loud and is 'hungry' or wants to watch TV, or wants a toy, etc. And I know it's not us waking him because usually he wakes before B. It isn't his sister because lately {due to his screaming and protesting at bedtime} she's been sleeping most of the night in our room. {Typically I lay her in her crib around 9:30pm after he's asleep and then end up coming and bringing her to our room when he starts shouting at 6am}.

So again I ask What do I do? About the tantrums, the acting out, the waking early. Any advice on any of it. Or all of it.
I just want my sweet boy back again. When he is nice, he is really really nice. He loves giving kisses, helping his Sissy, cuddling up in my lap, and giving great big hugs. It's just that those moments have come so few and far between now.

Sunday, August 15, 2010

Getting ready for baby numero 4...mentally that is

**this post is really long and all about preparing mentally for labor and delivery. i know several other gals who are pregnant right now so while i refresh myself to prepare for d-day, i thought i would share what works for me. take it for what you will, it's just what worked for me**

Well it's hard to believe but I'm now thirty weeks pregnant with Sweetcheeks. I know I say this every pregnancy but I really can't get over how fast it's flying by. (Bubba was born at 37weeks and 1day, pooks at 37w4d, and peanut at just 36w3d. And for those that don't know, OB doctors count pregnancies in weeks, not months or trimesters so hence all the weeks and days, etc). 

Today I'm 30w2d. If I carry to 37 weeks, that means that I only have about 50 days left until Ms. Sweetcheeks is physically here. It's kinda overwhelming! And it's not that I'm nervous or overwhelmed, we're ready for her. It's just surreal that it's really almost time. Obviously the ''nursery'' is finished, we've narrowed down a name, we've purchased a few and have been given TONS of clothes, we already have a car seat, swing, and I've been slowly purchasing diapers so we have quite the stash already. What's still left? Preparing myself for the mental aspect of childbirth, breastfeeding and having a newborn...again.

I full intend on breastfeeding {again} so I've re-read "The Nursing Mother's Companion" which I can honestly say is the best ''guide'' book that I've ever read. My experience nursing Peanut was much easier, happier and lasted months longer than that of Bubba or Pooks' and I really think that being well educated beforehand helped in our success. The book talks about what to expect (realistically), nursing positions, latching techniques, and even items that can help like nipple sheilds, breast pumps, etc. It  even goes on to discuss nursing "issues'' that may come up later: strikes, thrush, etc. I found myself reading it at the end of my pregnancy as well as anytime I had a ''huh? what's that??" moment. I give it 2 thumbs up and I will say that my local public library carries it, and the local bookstore also had a ''used'' copy that was super affordable.

Currently, I'm in the midst of re-reading "Ina May's Guide to Childbirth" to help mentally prepare myself on focusing and relaxing through the contractions (or rushes as she calls them). I will say that while I highly recommend this book as well, it isn't without a few warnings. It's very touchy-feely, hippyish type book. While I got past the tone, some people might find that it's a bit preachy or ''you must have a home birth or the health of you and your baby are at risk''. The book is written by a world renown midwife who focuses on natural childbirth so naturally, sometimes she does come across as a little anti-hospital, anti-OB. I just chose to take those comments/ "facts'' with a grain of salt. While I have had 2 natural childbirths (meaning drug-free, no pain meds given, vaginal childbirths) I have had both of them in a perfectly nice hospital with an OB who I trust completely. To me, a hosptial birth has never been ''evil''. I've never been forced to have a c-section or unwanted pain meds, etc. So, definitely keep that in mind.

--The first part of the book is nothing but birth stories. Which I do find inspiring and educating. There are a ton so they do get a bit repetitive but they are interesting reads. (Warning, some have graphic pictures!) For me, reading about how others childbirths have gone, how they coped with transitioning in labor, positions and techniques of what worked and didn't work, was very informative.

--The second part of the book discusses the physical, anatomical process of birth. What happens in each phase and how being mentally prepared and at ease can be so helpful. She talks about the pros and cons of pain medication, episiotimies, vacuums and forceps, etc. She gives great advice for coping/managing contractions, there are stories and illustrations of labor positions and she explains WHY these positions can be so helpful. That was what I found SO helpful.

With Bubba, I was induced so I had no choice but to lay in bed. I had high-blood pressure and was constantly monitored. It was a fairly quick labor (checked in at 8am and had given birth by 4pm) but had it's fair share of problems. I did have an epidural, it didn't take right. I couldn't feel any contractions at all or my left leg, but I could feel my right leg as well as my vaginal area. The pain of pushing was not numbed. The feeling of crowning was not numbed. It hurt and it hurt like hell because I couldn't feel the contractions, I couldn't feel the effectiveness of my pushes until I felt the pain. I was pushing when they told me I was having a contractions and I wasn't pushing correctly either. After delivery, I lost a lot of blood, I passed out twice after delivery. Bubba was born with the cord wrapped around his neck several times...his apgar scores were low and I didn't get to hold him immediately or have him placed on my belly. It was scary but I don't blame the hospital or my OB. I am extremely thankful that I was in a hospital and that I was able to get assistance so quickly.

His birth is how I knew that I could physically handle a natural childbirth, but it was also why I knew that I would never attempt a home birth. Once I found out I was pregnant with Pooks (just 6mos after delivering Bubba) I vowed to learn as much as I could about childbirth and to have a natural childbirth where my pushing attempts would be effective; where I would feel both the good and the not-so-good of labor. I will interject myself here and say that having a supportive birth partner/coach is HIGHLY needed. B was on-board for me doing this, he knew that he would see me in pain and that I would need his support and encouragement. My mom {Nanaw} had a natural childbirth herself, so there was no doubt in her mind that I could do it. Both my mom and hubby have been present during all of my labor and deliveries.

I also recommend having your own birth plan but realize that it is just a plan. If your birth story is a carbon copy of the plan, good for you. If everything is different, that's okay too. The important part of any childbirth is a healthy mom and baby. In the long run you won't get a medal for refusing an epidural or for having a vaginal birth over a Cesarean. When your "baby" crosses the stage at High School graduation I'm pretty sure you won't be scolding yourself for begging for an epidural 18 years prior.

While I had an idea of my birth plan in my mind {and on typed up on my laptop} I never gave a physical copy to my ob or hospital. Instead I talked to him one on one about it at my 32 or 34 week appointment. I let him know that I fully intended on having a natural childbirth, that I did not want an epidural. I was open to all suggestions for managing the pain naturally; squatting, birth balls, birth tub, etc. I wanted to avoid pitocin if at all possible. I was fine with him rupturing my bag of waters to help progress labor. That once the baby was born, I wanted to delay clamping/cutting the cord until it was done pulsating, and that B would cut the cord when directed. I wanted to nurse the baby as soon as possible after the necessary evaluations/tests were done.

And the important part of having a birth plan? Going over it again when you actually are in labor and check in to the hospital. Let them know of your desires and have them assign you a nurse based on those requests. With both Pooks and Peanuts birth, I had very helpful and supportive nurses. The worse thing is a nurse who doesn't think you can do it, or who asks if you want to talk to the anesthesiologist or worse yet warns you that he's leaving the building. 

I'm not going to lie and say that labor doesn't hurt...parts of it do BUT it's not a continuous pain. This isn't like breaking your ankle. This is a necessary pain with a light at the end of the tunnel. Contractions hurt, yes. But the amazing thing about contractions is that they only last for a little bit; after each one you get a glorious break. Sure at first those breaks are five minutes long and then they dwindle down to ya know, like 30 seconds...but the important part is they are pain-free breaks. It's a chance to mentally prepare yourself for the next one and to focus on the goal: meeting your baby. Breathe through the contractions, use the breaks to munch on some ice chips and re-focus yourself. I know if I can do it, you can do. 


So that's my 2 cents on childbirth, or at least natural childbirth. Millions of women give birth all over the world without so much as an option of an epidural. Without taking a class, without learning a method or hypnotizing themselves. (I've never done any of the aforementioned). If you are woman, and your pregnancy is text book normal (not breech, etc) your body is fully capable to give birth naturally. Remind yourself of that.

Tuesday, July 13, 2010

The name game...again!?

Okay so we had fully decided on a name for Ms. Sweetcheeks. We had bought cute little letters to hang above the crib and we shared the name with those who asked. Well lately B feels like we chose the wrong name...he doesn't really like it now that we keep using it. Instead of pronouncing it correctly, he's going the grade school route and saying things like Kingsley or Kinzie, instead of the name we had chosen prior {Kinley}.

So while I think this is going to be a repeat scenario of what happened when naming Peanut (where we like a name, agree on a name, then decide we don't think it's right, go back to the drawing board for months, baby is born and nameless for over 24 hours only to end up with the name that we had originally thought of 4 months prior) I'm entertaining name suggestions for Sweetcheeks. Again. If I get around to it before the kids wake up, I might even add a Poll over on the side so it's easier to see.

So far these are the names that either: a) one of us loves, b) both of us like, c) have no bad feelings about the name but aren't sure we love it or d) one of us loves and the other hates. I'm not going to categorize them; I won't tell you which and love or which B loves...wouldn't want anybody to play favorites. Here are the names that keep getting tossed around or suggested by one of us:
  • Kinley
  • Kylie
  • Harper
  • Olivia
  • Sydney
  • Margaret, would be known as Maggie
  • Callie
  • Avery
  • Hailey
Typically we like names that are common enough that people can pronounce them with ease but aren't so common that they are top 10. We lean towards names of Irish/Gaelic or English origin and this is true for all of our boys as well. And traditional spelling, not a fan of adding extra letters for the heck of it.

Oh and the middle name is without a doubt going to be Diane (after both my mom and my grandma who has passed away who both shared that same middle name)

So here we go! Leave your comments, thoughts, opinions and suggestions. Thanks...again!

Friday, April 30, 2010

I need help!

Anyone have any great tips for getting a kid to take antibiotics? Bubba has now been sick for almost a week and yesterday they prescribed an antibiotic. (They don't know what's wrong with him; he's had a fever in the 102-104.8 range since Sunday and his CBC showed elevated white blood count). While I can get him to take Tylenol or Motrin with some gentle coercing, I can't get him to take the antibiotic. I mean the second it touches his tongue he gags until he vomits. I tried letting him drink it, I tried using a squirting dispenser, I took it back to the pharmacy and got it re-flavored, I tried mixing it will chocolate syrup, I even added a little food coloring while he wasn't watching and tried pawning it off as a ''new'' medicine-nothing. If I pin him down and squirt it in his cheeks, he vomits. Yesterday I ended up having to call the on-call doctor, who put in a call to the urgent care. We (my mom went with) had to take him up to urgent care where they gave him a shot.
He was beyond pissed, crying and screaming which lead to gagging again.

Today I have to call our Dr back and see if they can prescribe something different. He still has to take the antibiotics for 3 more days.

He understands why he takes the medicine, so that's not the issue. He hates being sick and he knows that the Tylenol/Motrin keeps his body from getting too hot. The ''pink medicine" is to help get the germs out of him (and his blood {he wanted to know why he had to get blood drawn and she said to count the germs}) so that he can feel better. He even goes as far to say that he wants to take the medicine, he just can't.

What can I do? What else can I try? I was considering asking the doctor for tablets and seeing if I could just get him to swallow those, but I don't know if they come in a dose small enough. Anyone know of a antibiotic that tastes great??

I need help!