Showing posts with label questions. Show all posts
Showing posts with label questions. Show all posts

Friday, April 30, 2010

I need help!

Anyone have any great tips for getting a kid to take antibiotics? Bubba has now been sick for almost a week and yesterday they prescribed an antibiotic. (They don't know what's wrong with him; he's had a fever in the 102-104.8 range since Sunday and his CBC showed elevated white blood count). While I can get him to take Tylenol or Motrin with some gentle coercing, I can't get him to take the antibiotic. I mean the second it touches his tongue he gags until he vomits. I tried letting him drink it, I tried using a squirting dispenser, I took it back to the pharmacy and got it re-flavored, I tried mixing it will chocolate syrup, I even added a little food coloring while he wasn't watching and tried pawning it off as a ''new'' medicine-nothing. If I pin him down and squirt it in his cheeks, he vomits. Yesterday I ended up having to call the on-call doctor, who put in a call to the urgent care. We (my mom went with) had to take him up to urgent care where they gave him a shot.
He was beyond pissed, crying and screaming which lead to gagging again.

Today I have to call our Dr back and see if they can prescribe something different. He still has to take the antibiotics for 3 more days.

He understands why he takes the medicine, so that's not the issue. He hates being sick and he knows that the Tylenol/Motrin keeps his body from getting too hot. The ''pink medicine" is to help get the germs out of him (and his blood {he wanted to know why he had to get blood drawn and she said to count the germs}) so that he can feel better. He even goes as far to say that he wants to take the medicine, he just can't.

What can I do? What else can I try? I was considering asking the doctor for tablets and seeing if I could just get him to swallow those, but I don't know if they come in a dose small enough. Anyone know of a antibiotic that tastes great??

I need help!

Wednesday, June 24, 2009

psst....

you.

yeah, you. the one right there reading this blog.

i assume you are reading this for one of the following reasons:

a) you are interested in keeping up with us or you're family and feel obligated to be reading
b) you are nosy and hey, there's nothing wrong with that. hello this is a public blog on the internet...you're allowed to be nosy. heck blogs practically encourage that!
c) landed here by mistake and now you're stuck reading. kinda like looking at roadkill. or an episode of the hills.

just sayin'.

anyway, my point: if you have been here before, then i know. i may not know you per se but i know you're out there in the inter webs reading. how do i know? cause of this little baby:

this is my little friend, i call feedjit. okay...everyone calls it feedjit. it's just what it's called. i didn't pet name it or anything but regardless, it's a live traffic feed. it lets me know how people find my blog. i don't have it listed in a search engine (i like a little privacy from internet whackos) so this tells me how people land here. could be from here, or my facebook page but usually it's a direct link.

i know that they directly typed in b-u-b-b-a-a-n-d-p-o-o-k-s-.-b-l-o-g-s-p-o-t-.-c-o-m or they have the page bookmarked. in the last 24 hours AT LEAST 21 people have viewed this blog by direct choice. they have taken the time to type or bookmark our page, which flatters me! seriously, it rocks. so my question to my loyal readers is this....

where the heck are my comments people!?

can you give me some feedback? some love? can you let me know that you're out there in virtual land giggling with me. or at me, i'm okay with that too! you take the time to visit, can you let me know what you think??

please??

let me try to break it down for you.

*sigh*

i "work" with very small people all day. very small people with small vocabularies. and even smaller understandable vocabularies. i blog because it gives me the chance to "talk." it's a little bit of freedom around naptime where i have a chance to use real sentences and correct grammar (most of the time). i can ramble on and on (and on) with the best of them. when you leave a comment, it's a non-verbal adult conversation for me. comments are my little social interactions that i get to have throughout the day.

let me just say that lately, there haven't been too many comment social interactions. are you bored? do you have a question? comment? complaint? do you like more real life stories (btw, i have a few to share) or prefer pictures?

here is your chance to let me know what you like about visiting our little blog. i blog as a way to vent, unwind, brag, share memories and stories and so that one day (hopefully) my boys can read this and see what we did and how much i enjoyed it too. but i do have readers. i realize this. so do you have a question? something you wonder or are curious about?

i'll make a deal with you. i'll try to blog/update more often if you comment more often. and in return i'll answer any questions you have about us, me, the kids, the dog, blogging, baking rolls--whatever. just leave them in a comment or e-mail me at [mom2tictacs at gmail . com ]